APC sets date for selection of presidential candidates

Nigeria’s ruling party, the Congress of all progressives (APC), inaugurated committees to evaluate all the candidates who participate in the presidential, governor, Senate and House of Representatives elections on its platform. The party inaugurated the committees on Saturday in Abuja. The party had closed the sale of expression of interest and nomination forms on Thursday, while the deadline for submitting the forms was midnight on Friday. National Vice President Abubakar Kyari, who launched the Committee on behalf of National President Abdullahi Adamu, said 28 people bought the presidential nomination forms. He noted that some had dropped out of the race. He, however, did not mention names. “The selection of the presidential candidates: so far we have 28 candidates and as you know some candidates have started to withdraw their aspiration and as such on May 23 this month they will be selected,” Kyari said. Labor and Employment Minister Chris Ngige dropped out of the presidential race on Friday. Gbenga Olawepo-Hashim, a businessman, also dropped out of the race on Friday. Presidential hopefuls include former Lagos State Governor Bola Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; President of the African Development Bank, Akinwunmi Adesina; former Minister of Science and Technology,. Ogbonnaya Onu; and the president of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan. Others are the former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; the former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio; the former governor of the state of Imo, Rochas Okorocha; and the former governor of Ogun state, Ibikunle Amosun. The others are a herdsman, Tunde Bakare; Cross River State Governor Ben Ayade; Ebonyi State Governor Dave Umahi; the governor of the state of Ekiti, Kayode Fayemi; former Minister of State, Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; former Senate President Ken Nnamani; the governor of the state of Kogi, Yahaya Bello; the governor of the state of Jigawa, Badaru Abubakar and the former governor of the state of Zamfara, Ahmed Yerima. ALSO READ: 2023: Another APC presidential hopeful drops out of the race Also, Ajayi Borroffice, Acting Senator, Uju Kennedy Ohnenye; Nicholas Felix Nwagbo; the former speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole; the former Minister of State, Petroleum, Timipre Sylva; the former Minister of Information, Ikeobasi Mokelu; and Tein Jack Rich are also in the running. Some groups also bought forms for former Chairman Goodluck Jonathan and CBN Governor Godwin Emefiele. Giving a breakdown of the nomination forms sold by the party, Mr. Kyari indicated that 145 people bought gubernatorial forms and 351 people bought senate forms. He specified that 1,197 candidates bought the forms for the House of Representatives. According to him, three panels will evaluate the gubernatorial hopefuls at the Fraiser Suites in the capital, while four panels will evaluate the senatorial hopefuls at the same venue. Ten panels are to evaluate the candidates for the House of Representatives. The selection of candidates for governor and senator will begin on May 14 and will last two days. Read More Related News Here Let here it in the comment below if you do have an opinion on this; APC sets date for selection of presidential candidates