#FCTDecides2022: APC wins Abaji but no candidate can be declared the winner

The electoral commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the election for president in the Abuja Abaji Area Council. However, due to a legal dispute over who is the real APC candidate, none of the party’s candidates will be declared the winner of the election, INEC said. PREMIUM TIMES reported how local elections were held in Abaji and the other five area councils in Abuja on Saturday. The APC had previously won the chairperson election in Gwagwalada and Kwali area councils, while the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) won in AMAC, Bwari and Kuje. The APC’s victory in Abaji makes Nigeria’s two main parties each win, although a total of 14 parties participated in the area council elections. The Abaji debacle for APC On Sunday, INEC’s counting officer for the Abaji Area Council, Gabriel Mordi, said that it will not be legitimate to declare any of the APC contenders the winner of the elections. “We cannot declare a candidate in Abaji as the winner because the winning party does not have a candidate here, the case is still in court,” he said. He said a winner will be announced after the Supreme Court’s decision in the coming weeks. In the elections, the APC obtained 7,280 votes to defeat Yahaya Garba of the PDP, who obtained 4,063 votes. A total of 11,522 voters registered with the local government for voting. Of these, 11,390 were counted as valid votes while 107 were rejected votes. The APC controversy An APC challenger, Muhammad Loko, had been declared the winner of the April 23, 2021 presidential primary election in the area. His name was controversially replaced by the APC with that of Umar Abdullahi, who was later recognized by the INEC as the party’s standard-bearer until recently. Dissatisfied with this, Mr. Loko applied to a FCT High Court in Gudu District. The court on November 16, 2021 ruled in his favor and dismissed Mr. Abdullahi. The latter appealed the sentence. However, the appeal court in January confirmed Mr. Loko as the APC’s presidential candidate for the February 12 elections in Abaji. Mr. Abdullahi appealed to the Supreme Court, whose ruling on the matter is now awaited. It is on this basis that the INEC refused to declare any of the candidates the winner, despite the victory of APC. Read More Related News Here Let here it in the comment below if you do have an opinion on this; #FCTDecides2022: APC wins Abaji but no candidate can be declared the winner