Ogun Assembly Summons Two Former LG Presidents for Alleged Financial Violations

The Assembly of Ogun has summoned two former local government presidents and another official for alleged infractions observed during the consideration of the Auditor General’s reports on the Odeda, Odogbolu and Remo Norte council areas. Chairman of the House Public Accounts Committee Musefiu Lamidi listed those summoned to include: former Remo Norte local government chairman Abayomi Soyemi and his Odogbulu counterpart Olaniyi Opanuga. Mr. Lamidi explained that the invitation, scheduled for February 3, was to allow past presidents to make further clarification on some gray areas contained in the audit queries on the councils’ financial reports. He said that the infractions happened when they were presidents of local government councils. Mr. Lamidi further stated that the committee was also considering inviting Tope Oyekan, who currently serves on the Ikenne local government council, to appear before lawmakers. The legislator said that the official had rejected previous invitations from legislators and was also accused of insubordination by the Comptroller General of Local Governments. He denounced what he called a flagrant violation of financial regulations, including the inappropriate withdrawal of pay stubs and unrestricted/questionable expenses, among others, by some former political officials and council officials. The legislator noted that the development had given rise to the various infractions noted in the audit report. He charged local government officials to strictly adhere to the principles of accountability and transparency, especially in the financial records of councils. Mr. Lamidi warned that appropriate sanctions would be imposed on any official found to have engaged in financial mismanagement. The Nigerian News Agency (NAN) reports that the committee considered audit reports from local government councils from FY2014 to FY2019. NAN also reports that other members of the committee include Messrs. Sola Adams, Ganiyu Oyedeji, Kunle Sobukanla, Yusuf Amosun, Kemi Oduwole, and Yusuf Adejojo. (YAYA) Read More Related News Here Let here it in the comment below if you do have an opinion on this; Ogun Assembly Summons Two Former LG Presidents for Alleged Financial Violations