Osinbajo, Nnamani and Bakare choose APC presidential nomination ways

Vice president Yemi Osin Bajo has chosen the nomination and expression of interest forms to run for president on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC). The forms were purchased for the vice president for N100 million on Thursday in Abuja by a former Kano state governor and sitting senator, Kabiru Gaya. Mr. Osinbajo was in Cross River State to meet with APC worshipers when the form was elected on his behalf. The vice president had declared his interest in the 2023 presidential race on April 11. He said, among other things, that the seven years he has spent as the nation’s number two citizen have positioned him more than anyone else to succeed his boss, President Muhammadu Buhari. Former Senate President Ken Nnamani. Also on Thursday, a former president of the Senate, Ken Namaniit also purchased the APC presidential nomination and expression of interest forms. Nnamani, who presided over the upper legislative chamber from 2005 to 2007, indicated last week his intention to run for the nation’s highest political office. While testifying in Abuja, the former Enugu state legislator denounced the high cost of the forms. He requested the intervention of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). Pastor Tunde Bakare [Photo: Punch Newspaper]Tunde Bakarethe founder of the Citadel Global Community Church (formerly the Latter Rain Assembly) also took on the presidential forms of the ruling APC. The outspoken cleric chose the forms just weeks after signaling his plan to join the overcrowded presidential race. Bakare was Buhari’s running mate during the 2011 presidential election under the defunct Congress for Progressive Change (CPC). Bakare joins several other presidential hopefuls in the APC, which is fast becoming an everyone’s deal as many have purchased the forms despite the outrageous price tag. Buhari is 15 years old, I am 16 — Bakare PREMIUM TIMES had reported how Mr. Bakare had said in a video that went viral in 2020, that he would be Mr. Buhari’s successor. “Take it to the top of the mountain, if you’ve never heard of it before, I’m telling you this morning in the scheme of things, when it comes to Nigerian politics, President Muhammadu Buhari is number 15, and I’m number sixteen, “If he (Buhari) wants to race in 2019, I am not against it. He’s still number 15. That’s when he comes out that I come in,” she said. He went further by comparing himself and Mr. Buhari to biblical figures: Moses and Joshua. “His assignment is like that of Moses to take Nigeria to the Jordan River, but he cannot cross it; it will take a Joshua to go to the other side and start distributing resources to the people of this nation,” he had said. Last year, Bakare even urged the president to nominate a successor to succeed him, prompting a response from Femi Adesina, Buhari’s spokesman, that “the president will not choose a successor.” Adesina added: “We know him (Buhari), he is not someone like that. Will he be interested in the process? If he will. He will ensure that there are free, fair and credible elections; that no one will come to use money and resources to cheat their way to the leadership of the country.” Bakare, despite his relationship with Buhari, had repeatedly criticized the current administration. Flurry of applicants In addition to the trio of Osinbajo, Nnamdi and Bakare, other presidential hopefuls on the party’s platform include former Lagos State Governor Bola Tinubu and Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi, Education Minister Emeka Nwajiuba, Minister of Labor and Employment Chris Ngige, Former Governor of Imo Rochas Okorocha, Governor Dave Umahi of Ebonyi State and Former Governor of Abia and Acting Senator Orji Uzor Kalu. Minister of Transport Rotimi Amaechi, Governor Ben Ayade of Cross River, Former Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State and Minister for Niger Delta Affairs Godswill Akpabio, Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State and Governor Abubakar Badaru from Jigawa State are also in the running. . APC has scheduled its primary elections for the end of May. Read More Related News Here Let here it in the comment below if you do have an opinion on this; Osinbajo, Nnamani and Bakare choose APC presidential nomination ways